Africa Insight: Editorial Policies

The AJOL site is currently undergoing a major upgrade, and there will temporarily be some restrictions to the available functionality.
-- Users will not be able to register or log in during this period.
-- Full text (PDF) downloads of Open Access journal articles will be available as always.
-- Full text (PDF) downloads of subscription based journal articles will NOT be available
We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please check back soon, as we will revert to usual policy as soon as possible.

Focus and Scope

Africa Insight is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal of the Africa Institute of South Africa (AISA). It is accredited by the South African National Department of Higher Education and Training and is indexed in the International Bibliography of Social Science.

AISA is a statutory research body focusing on contemporary African affairs in its research, publications, library and documentation. AISA is dedicated to knowledge production, education, training and the promotion of awareness of Africa, for Africans and the international community. This is achieved through independent policy analysis, and the collection, processing and interpretation, and dissemination of information.

Articles appearing in Africa Insight are abstracted or indexed in Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, African Studies Abstracts, AfricaBib, African Book Publishing Record, Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory and PubList.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Publication Frequency

Published quarterly


Editorial Committee

  1. Sabelo J Ndlovu-Gatsheni, AMRI,  University of South Africa 
  2. Claudious Chikozho, Human Sciences Research Council
  3. Emmanuel Sekyere, Human Sciences Research Council


Editorial Board


Sabelo J Ndlovu-Gatsheni, AMRI,  University of South Africa 

Editorial Board

1)    Abdul Lamin (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)

2)    Adebayo Olukoshi (African Institute for Economic Development and Planning)

3)    Carolyn Horton Harford (University of Swaziland)

4)    Christopher Saunders(Centre for Conflict Resolution)

5)    Gilbert Khadiagala(University of the Witwatersrand)

6)    Gilingwe Mayende(Central University of Technology)

7)    Hamdy Hassan(Zayed University)

8)    Heidi Hudson (University of the Free State)

9)    Ifi Amadiume (Dartmouth College)

10) John Akokpari (University of Cape Town)

11) Khabela Matlosa (UNDP/ECA Joint Governance Initiatives)

12) Kwandiwe Kondlo (University of Johannesburg)

13) Margaret Lee (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

14) Onalenna Selolwane (University of Botswana)

15) Sam Moyo (Africa Institute of Agrarian Studies)

16) Sandy Africa (University of Pretoria)

17) Teresa Cruze Silva (Eduardo Mondlane University)

18) Tukumbi Lumumba-Kasongo (Cornell University and Wells College)

19) Sabelo J Ndlovu-Gatsheni, Head of Archie Mafeje Research Institute, University of South Africa

ISSN: 1995-641X
AJOL African Journals Online