The editorial board is made up of experts in the various subspecialists/professions of gastroenterology and hepatology, spread across tertiary institutions in Nigeria. There are also experts from the United States, United Kingdom and elsewhere, who serve as editorial consultants to the journal. The editorial board meets quarterly to ensure quality is maintained for every article published in the journal.

Links to detailed description of editorial board-


Professor Fatimah Abdulkareem, Consultant Pathologist, Department of Anatomic & Molecular Pathology, College of Medicine University of Lagos, PMB 12003, Surulere, Lagos, Nigeria. Phone: +2348023093852, Email Address:


Professor Olusegun S. Ojo, Consultant Pathologist, Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital Complex, Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria, Phone: +2348033185702, Email address:

Editorial Members

  • Professor Shettima Mustapha, Chief Consultant Gastroenterologist, University of Maiduguri,
    Phone: +2348034235782, Email:
  • Wole Olaomi, Consultant General Surgeon, National Hospital Abuja, Phone: +2348036816655, Email:
  • Emeka Ray-Offor, Consultant Surgical Gastroenterologist/Minimal Access Surgeon, University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital, Port Harcourt, Nigeria, Phone: +2348091473322, Email:
  • Prof Adegboyega Akere,Consultant Physician & Gastroenterology, University of Ibadan, Nigeria, Phone: +2348033257211, Email:
  • Comfort Saturday Utin, Registered Perioperative/Advanced Endoscopy Nurse, University of Uyo Teaching Hospital, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria, Phone: +2348021383620,

Editorial Consultants:

  • Olorunda Rotimi, University of Leeds Teaching Hospital, Leeds, United Kigdom
  • Prof Olufemi Ogunbiyi, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Past Editors-in-Chief

  1. Professor Jesse Otegbayo (2008-2012)
  2. Professor Olufunmilayo Lesi (2012-2016)
  3. Professor Sylvester Nwokediuko (2016-2021)

Journal Identifiers

eISSN: 1596-2253
print ISSN: 2251-0079