Nigerian Journal of Ophthalmology: Editorial Policies

Log in or Register to get access to full text downloads.

Remember me or Register

Focus and Scope

The journal will cover technical and clinical studies related to health, ethical and social issues in field of clinical, laboratory, community medicine, basic medical sciences, medical technology, economics and management of health care delivery. Articles with clinical interest and implications will be given preference.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Publication Frequency

Two issues of the journal form one volume. Each issue will, initially, have approximately 50 pages


Editorial Board


Professor Charles Bekibele

Department of Ophthalmology, University of Ibadan & University College Hospital, Ibadan, Nigeria.


Dr Bolutife Olusanya

Department of Ophthalmology, University of Ibadan & University College Hospital, Ibadan, Nigeria.

Dr Adedeji Akinyemi

Department of Ophthalmology, Federal Medical centre, Asaba, Nigeria.                          

Business Editor

Dr Yinka Ologunsua

Department of Ophthalmology, Ladoke Akintola University Teaching Hospital, Ogbomosho, Nigeria.

Subspecialty Ophthalmology Editorial Board Members (National)


Dr Funmi Ogun, Department of Ophthalmology, University College Hospital, Ibadan.


Dr Adeola Onakoya, Department of Ophthalmology, Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Lagos, Nigeria.

Cornea and Anterior Segment:

Dr Festus Oshoba, Chief Operations Officer, Ladekem Eye Hospital, Lagos, Nigeria.

Paediatric Ophthalmology:

Dr Dupe Ademola-Popoola, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Ilorin teaching Hospital, Ilorin, Kwara State.


Dr Femi Oderinlo, Eye Foundation Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria.

Public Health Ophthalmology:

Dr Funmi Bankole, Medical Director, General Hospital, Isolo, Lagos State, Nigeria.

Orbit and Oculoplasty: 

Dr Yemi Fasina, Department of Ophthalmology, University College Hospital, Ibadan, Nigeria.

International Editorial Advisers:

Professor Robert Ritch (USA), Professor of Ophthalmology, New York Medical College. Chief of Glaucoma Service and Director, New York Eye and Ear Infirmary, New York, USA.

Dr Ian Murdock (UK), Moore fields Eye Hospital, London, UK.

Gbemi Oworu (UK), Head of Department, Department of Ophthalmology, Calderdale and Hundersfield NHS Trust, Hundersfield, UK.

Dr Pran Nagpal (India), Retina Foundation, Ahmedabad, India

Past Editorial Board Members

Prof SS Amoni- Kaduna, Nigeria

Prof AA Majekodunmi- C/o LUTH, Lagos, Nigeria

Prof Oyin Olurin- Vision House Clinic, Ibadan, Nigeria

Prof OO Osuntokun- C/O University College Hospital Ibadan, Nigeria

Prof H Faal- C/O University of Calabar, Nigeria

Dr OO Ogundipe- USA

Dr A Nylander- Lancashire, UK

Dr Magulike- C/O UNTH, Enugu, Nigeria

Prof FB Akinsola- LUTH, Lagos, Nigeria

Dr BGK Ajayi- Ojulowo Clinic, Ibadan, Nigeria

Prof A Abiose- Ibadan, Nigeria.

Prof OE Babalola- Rachael Eye Hospital, Abuja, Nigeria.

Prof JO Ayanru- UBTH, Benin- City.

Prof AM Baiyeroju- UCH, Ibadan. 

ISSN: 2468-8363
AJOL African Journals Online