South African Journal of Education: Editorial Policies

The AJOL site is currently undergoing a major upgrade, and there will temporarily be some restrictions to the available functionality.
-- Users will not be able to register or log in during this period.
-- Full text (PDF) downloads of Open Access journal articles will be available as always.
-- Full text (PDF) downloads of subscription based journal articles will NOT be available
We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please check back soon, as we will revert to usual policy as soon as possible.

Focus and Scope

The South African Journal of Education (SAJE) publishes original research articles reporting on research that fulfils the criteria of a generally accepted research paradigm; review articles, intended for the professional scientist and which critically evaluate the research done in a specific field in education; and letters in which criticism is given of articles that appeared in this Journal.

Indicate the relevance of the study for education research where the education system is characterised by transformation, and/or an emerging economy/development state, and/or scarce resources. Research articles of localised content, i.e. of interest only to specific areas or specialists and which would not appeal to the broader readership of the Journal, should preferably not be submitted for consideration by the Editorial Committee.

Ethical considerations: A brief narrative account/description of ethical issues/aspects should be included in articles that report on empirical findings.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Publication Frequency

Published quarterly.


Education Association of South Africa (EASA)

Membership is open to all professional educationists attached to Universities, Teacher Training Colleges, Technikons, Education Departments or to any other institutions involved in the provision of educational services and/or educational research.Membership fees are currently R450. Enquiries about membership of EASA can be directed to:

The Secretary
Prof AM Dicker

AJH 7-43
PO Box 392




Editorial Team

Executive Editor

Ronél Ferreira, University of Pretoria

Associate Editor

Liesel Ebersöhn, University of Pretoria

Editorial Committee

Naydene de Lange, Nelson Mandela University

Kobus Maree, University of Pretoria

Vanessa Scherman, University of South Africa

Language Editor

Genevieve Wood

Administrative and Publishing Editor

Estelle Botha


Editorial Board


Theresa Catalano, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, USA

Bora Demir, Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart University, Turkey

Rocío García-Carrión, University of Deusto, Spain

Ann Higgins-D'Alessandro, Fordham University, USA

Linda Liebenberg, Dalhousie University, Canada

Joanna Madalińska-Michalak, University of Warsaw, Poland

Aleidine Moeller, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, USA

Karen Murphy, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Salim Razı, Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart University, Turkey

Rose Ruto-Korir, Moi University, Kenya

Winnie Wing So, The Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong

Simon Taukeni, University of Namibia, Namibia


Jean Baxen, Rhodes University

Aslam Fataar, Stellenbosch University

Jan Heystek, North-West University

Ina Joubert, University of Pretoria

Dinah Magano, University of South Africa

Raj Mestry, University of Johannesburg

Mokgadi Moletsane, University of the Western Cape

Andre Pelser, University of the Free State

Daisy Pillay, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Brigitte Smit, University of South Africa

Gerrit Stols, University of Pretoria

ISSN: 2076-3433
AJOL African Journals Online