Water SA: Editorial Policies

Log in or Register to get access to full text downloads.

Remember me or Register

Focus and Scope

This journal publishes refereed, original work in all branches of water science, technology, engineering and policy.  This includes: water resource development; the hydrological cycle; surface hydrology; geohydrology, hydropedology and hydrometeorology; limnology; freshwater and estuarine ecology; salinisation; treatment and management of municipal and industrial water and wastewater; treatment and disposal of sewage sludge; environmental pollution control; environmental and drinking water quality; drinking water treatment; water services, including domestic water supply and sanitation services; agricultural water; aquaculture in terms of its impact on the water resource; water policy and governance; water economics; water as a social good.  Water SA is intended to serve both international and Southern African readers and authors.  Contributions which are not of broad international interest must make a specific contribution to Southern Africa (defined for this purpose to include the countries of South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique).  Submissions of predominantly local interest outside of Southern Africa will not be considered.

Contributions may take the form of a paper, a critical review, a short communication, a rapid communication, a technical note or comments on papers already published.  A paper is a comprehensive contribution to the subject, including introduction, experimental information and discussion of results.  (Technical accounts involving application of well-known techniques, and situation assessment/observation/sampling papers reporting results of work not carried out as a research activity, cannot be considered.)  A review is an authoritative, critical account of recent and current research in a specific field to which the author has made notable contributions.  A short communication is a concise account of new and significant findings to inform readers of preliminary or limited research results.  A rapid communication is an original contribution which merits prompt publication to publicise the findings of very recent research with immediate significance.  A technical note describes an original process or technique without necessarily including extensive data, theory or critical evaluation.  Comments on papers already published are sent to the authors of the paper for reply and both the comments and the authors’ reply will be published in the upcoming issue of Water SA. Preference is given to concise contributions.


Section Policies


Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Peer Review Process

Each paper is sent to two reviewers and the Editor or subject editor makes the final decision.


Publication Frequency

The journal is published quarterly (January, April, July and October)


Water Research Commission (WRC)

The Water Research Commission (WRC) is a statuary organisation that functions as a ‘hub’ for water-centred knowledge. The WRC plays a leading role in building a sustainable knowledge base in South Africa by investing in water research and development; building sustainable and appropriate capacity; developing competences/skills for the water sector; and forming strategic partnerships.


Water SA Editorial Board: 1 July 2008 to 30 June 2011

Dr Ronaldo Sousa CIIMAR, Portugal

Prof Denis Hughes, Rhodes University

Prof Graham Jewitt, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Prof Roberto Canziani, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Dr Nozi Mjoli, Hlathi Development

Prof Bhekie Mamba, University of Johannesburg

Prof Larry Swatuk, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada (from September 2008;

previously University of Botswana)

Dr Bill Pitman, Stewart Scott, Nelspruit

Prof Hein du Preez, Rand Water

Prof Johnson Lin, University of KwaZulu-Natal (re-nominated)

Prof Brian Marshall, Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization, Uganda (re-nominated)

Prof Chris du Preez, University of the Free State

Prof Maggy Momba, Tshwane University of Technology

Dr Stijn van Hulle, Hogeschool West-Vlaanderen (HOWEST), Belgium

Dr Heinz Jacobs, University of Stellenbosch

Prof Evans Chirwa, University of Pretoria

Dr Nebo Jovanovic, CSIR, Stellenbosch

WRC Director: Water-Centred Knowledge (ex officio)


Water SA Editorial Board: 1 July 2011 to 30 June 2014

Prof Brian Allanson, Allanson Associates
Prof Aleksandar Bojic, University of Niš, Serbia
Prof Charles Breen, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Prof Chris Buckley, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Prof Luke Chimuka, University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Marthie Ehlers, University of Pretoria
Prof George Ekama, University of Cape Town
Prof Stefano Farolfi, CIRAD; Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
Prof Bhekie Mamba, University of Johannesburg
Prof Maggy Momba, Tshwane University of Technology
Dr John Ndiritu, University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Jeff Smithers, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Prof Larry Swatuk, University of Waterloo, Canada
Dr Rejoice Tsheko, Botswana College of Agriculture
Dr Danie Vermeulen, University of the Free State
WRC Director: Water-Centred Knowledge (ex officio)


Water SA Editorial Board: 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2018

Prof Janine Adams, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Dr Gerhard Backeberg, Water Research Commission

Prof Chris Buckley, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Dr Joyce Chitja, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Prof Stefano Farolfi, CIRAD

Prof Graham Jewitt, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Prof Catherine Ngila, University of Johannesburg

Prof Gustaf Olsson, Lund University

WRC Group Executive: Innovation and Impact (ex officio)

Water SA Editor (ex officio)

ISSN: 0378-4738
AJOL African Journals Online