Main Article Content

Eastern Arc Mountains and their national and global importance

S Iddi


The Eastern Arc Mountains comprise a chain of separate mountain blocks running from southern Kenya through Tanzania in a crescent or arc shape. In Tanzania, the Eastern Arc consists of North and South Pare, East and West Usambaras, Nguru, Ukaguru, Rubeho, Uluguru, Udzungwa and Mahenge Mountains. The mountains and forests on them are very important to Tanzania and also globally. A large number of products and services are provided from the forests to the Tanzanian people, and globally important biodiversity values are found. In this paper, these important features are highlighted.

Journal of East African Natural History Vol. 87 (1&2) 1998: pp. 19-26

Journal Identifiers

eISSN: 1026-1613
print ISSN: 0012-8317