South African Society of Archivists

Peer Review

All articles shall be critically blind reviewed by at least two independent referees after passing preliminary review by the editors. No reviewer is required to review more than two papers per issue. Reviewers are requested to mentor authors by providing feedback on how to improve the submission and to determine whether or not a paper is fit for publication. Reviewers are provided with reviewer guidelines which must be strictly adhered to.

Open Access Policy

This Journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. The Journal offers the Diamond Open Access route in which the authors, institutions, or funders do not pay an Open Access Fee and the reader does not pay to read. The Diamond Open Access route allows institutions and professional societies to publish peer reviewed scholarly literature without charging authors and readers.

Publication Scheduling

The JSASA publishes one issue per year around November of each year.


South African Society of Archivists (SASA)
SASA National Committee (2022-2025)

Chairperson: Prince Jongisilo Pokwana Ka Menziwa, Vusizwe Foundation

Deputy Chairperson: Ms Maite Manganye, Limpopo Provincial Archives

Secretary: Dr Nikiwe Momoti, University of Western Cape

Treasurer: Mr Sipho Zulu, University of Johannesburg

Editor-in-Chief: Prof Ngoako Marutha, University of South Africa 

Deputy editor: Dr Tshepho Mosweu, University of Botswana

Additional Members:

Mr Alexio Motsi, National Archives of South Africa

Mr Jabu Nkatingi, former chairperson

Administrator: Ms Unathi Mabhoza, South African Society of Archivists

More information on SASA can be found on their website here:

Journal Identifiers

print ISSN: 1012-2796